If I’d Have Known Then What I Know Now!

I have been consulting to small businesses for over 20 years now. While the old tried and true methods are in demand, there is always something new to learn. The use of the computer was still in the early stages. When I first started out, word-of-mouth seemed to work for me, for awhile.  I didn’t know about networking. And I certainly didn’t know that there were formal groups that helped to provide that opportunity. I tried to slug through the old fashioned way to find new business; send out mailers, cold calls, answer ads, etc. Of course none of that worked. Eventually, I met someone that suggested that I join a Chamber of Commerce. I was reluctant at first as I thought all the wrong things about a Chamber. Through persistance of that other person, I did join one. I quickly found out about networking. I also learned about the concept of “giving to get.” If I can attend a networking event, I will be there. Also there are no more preconceptions about any group. This also brings up the phrase “If I would have known then what I know now!”

Leave a Reply

